A Day In The Life – Analise Pruni

Photo courtesy of Analise Pruni
Photo courtesy of Analise Pruni

• Where did you grow up?

I lived in a suburb of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania until I was 12 years old (Go Steelers!) and then moved to Eagle River, a small town in Northern Wisconsin from age 13-18. 

• Where do you live?

I live in South Minneapolis with my wife Anne, dogs Franklin and Clark, and cats Sansa and Oscar.

• Who do you live with?

See above

• What is your occupation?

I am a beer & sales rep for Boston Beer Company: when the weather turns cold my favorite beer is a crisp Winter Lager spiced bock.

• When did you come out?

I was 24, living in Milwaukee, about a year before I met my now wife.

• How’d that go?

Lots of trial & error getting the words right and many, many awkward conversations; but lots of support from my friends and family. A year of bumbling through the gay bars, and then I met Anne. 

• When do you wake up?

7-ish during the week, 9 on the weekends.

• Phone alarm or old school alarm?

Phone alarm, it’s easier to set 5 consecutive “snoozes”.

• What’s the first thing you do in the morning?

Make coffee

• Breakfast?

Meh, not a big fan. A bagel or banana on a good day.

• Coffee?

MUST HAVE.

• Cream, or no?

Black, no cream.

• How do you spend your commute?

Listening to music and singing loud enough to turn heads on the highway.

• What do you nerd out for (gaming, music, history, etc.)?

Queer/bisexual musicians (Julien Baker, Joy Oladokun, Phoebe Bridgers, MUNA) to name a few. Or any campy CW-teen television, preferably superhero shows with queer protagonists.  

• What music have you been digging lately?

Aforementioned Joy Oladokun’s album “Mercy”, MUNA ft. Phoebe Bridgers song “Silk Chiffon”, Jack Garratt’s album “Love, Death & Dancing”.

• Is your work space tidy or a hot mess?

There’s a method to my madness but… hot mess.

• What’s been your favorite job?

When I was fifteen I got to sell the 50/50 tickets at the stock car races Tuesday nights during the summer. Half the proceeds went to the animal shelter and I got paid $25 to watch the beat-up cars crash into each other and lose pieces along the dirt oval track.

• Favorite weeknight meal: Go out, take out, or cook in?

Cook in – Turkey burgers, with veggies and rice. Weeknight staple.

• On a usual weeknight, you are doing what?

Playing my guitar, cooking dinner, snuggling with my four animals because they’re everywhere. 

• Bedtime?

10:30 during the week, 1-2 am on the weekends… Part-time night owl.

• Favorite weekend activity?

Disc Golfing and Brewery Tours!

• What are you most proud of, and why?

I am most proud of the short album I recorded earlier this spring, “Mercy”. It’s more than ten years of songs & storytelling, my most honest thoughts and feelings and poetry that finally turned into something I could share with the people around me. 

• Words of wisdom to share:

“All one can do is the next right thing.”- Frozen II – Anna

Lavender Magazine

5100 Eden Ave, Suite 107 • Edina, MN 55436 • 612.436.4660

©2022 Lavender Media, Inc.