A Day In The Life: Jim Halvorson


Jim Halvorson. Photo by Mike Hnida

Name: Jim Halvorson

Where did you grow up? I grew up out in the country showing horses and cows in Buffalo, MN.

Where do you live? I just bought my first home in Northeast Minneapolis! I’m finally “home” and love NE!

Who do you live with? I have a granny-cat, Inga, that I’ve had for 15 years, and I also have a roommate, Michael Parady; he and I have been roommates for eight years.

What is your occupation? I am a hairstylist and makeup artist and co-own the salon I work at, CaJah Salon in St. Paul.

When did you come out? I was 18 years old.

How’d that go? Coming out went okay; my mom asked me if I was gay before I came out, then two weeks later I did it, knowing full well she already knew. Then she told my dad and we had dinner and I told him too. A little rough patch here and there, but eventually everything went fine! I’m lucky to have two loving and super supportive parents.

When do you wake up? Usually in the 6 a.m. hour at some time. I have already gotten my clothes prepared for the day because I get up and go work out 2-3 times a week for my mental/physical health since I’m always at my salon. Plus, we are currently expanding our salon, so a lot of time is being spent there now that I need to work out for my own sanity! Being gay doesn’t define me, it enhances me!

Phone alarm or old school alarm? Phone alarm, or else my cat is up snuggling me and purring in my face because she’s hungry!

What’s the first thing you do in the morning? Snuggle with inga, then go feed her cause she’s screaming at me cause she’s starving, like every cat on the face of the Earth.

Breakfast? Usually breakfast is a banana and pre-workout shake before I go to the gym. If I don’t work out, I’ll usually fry an egg and make an egg sandwich and eat it on the way to work.

Coffee? “Coffee” yes, but I don’t wanna taste the coffee… usually like a salted caramel mocha. Something super sugary and non-coffee tasting.

Cream or no? Yes, whipped cream!

How do you spend your commute: I only have a 15 minute drive to my salon, so I flip through Sirius channels, usually CNN news updates, or the BPM channel to get me going in the morning.

If your job were like a yearbook, what would you be voted? (Class clown, best dressed, most annoying, etc.) I would say “Most Cheerful” and “Mr. Smiley”.

What inspires you? My business partner Carrie inspires me. She raised two amazing children on her own, working full time and all the while being a 14-year breast cancer suvivor. She eats and lives healthy and doesn’t judge anyone or anything. She lives life to the fullest, and she is my rock in life too!

Do you eat your lunch while working or take a break? My daily work schedule runs on 45 minute increments. All my haircuts/colors/highlights all book at 45 minute spots through my day, so yes, I take one 45 minute break midday usually around 2:15 p.m. My work day is 10:30 a.m.-8:15 p.m. daily!

Is your work space tidy or a hot mess? Tidy, everything has its place, it’s all faced forward but very organized because it helps with the flow of each client if everything is in its right place.

What’s been your favorite job? My current job, being a full-time hairstylist, makeup artist and also salon owner. We have an amazing team of 12 stylists working together, soon to be 18! We are looking to hire six more stylists to join us to “play hair” at our salon, and love what we do!

Who are your heroes? I guess I don’t really have any personal heroes, it’s tough for me to look at someone and say I want to be like them. Really, my heroes are everyday people who do nice things for others without the need for anything in return.

Favorite weeknight meal: Go out, take out, or cook in? I love going out to eat. I think my favorite meal is going out for sushi. Ordering a whole bunch of different fish, but also having robata, “meat on a stick” while having a Sapporo beer!

Most embarrassing moment: My most embarrassing moment was hilarious. I was at CaJah Salon cutting hair one day and I was wearing a nice light pair of linen pants during the summer. I bent down to grab something off the floor and RRRRIIIIIPPPPP goes the seam right up the back of my pants! It was dead silent in the salon and everyone looked over at me and we all started laughing our heads off. I went next door to the clothing store and bought a pair of womens capri jeans and wore them the rest of the day! It is still talked about to this day!

On a usual weeknight, you are doing what? I am at the salon booked with clients until 8:15/8:30 p.m. every night. After that, I head home to make food and eat and watch some Netflix and hopefully go to sleep by  midnight, so I can get up at 6ish and head to the gym!

Bedtime: Midnight for sure.

Favorite weekend activity: I love going out to rollerblade around the lakes in the summer, or else grab my hammock and tiny grill and go find to shady trees near Lake of the Isles or Calhoun and sit and relax and read a book or watch Netflix, grill some hotdogs and just try to chill. During the winter, I love going to the movies on the weekend.

What are you most proud of and why? This answer is going to sound odd, but I am most proud of myself… and I think everyone should be proud of themselves everyday as well. I was a gymnast growing up, I was a cheerleader, I showed horses, and now I’m a full-time hair stylist and a salon owner and I’ve worked so hard to get where I’m at in life.  Everyone should feel proud of themselves, especially people growing up as LGBT and having to have inner struggles. Just to be yourself in life!

Words of wisdom to share: Be true to yourself and stay strong. Put your best face forward and treat others as you hope to be treated.

Lavender Magazine

5100 Eden Ave, Suite 107 • Edina, MN 55436 • 612.436.4660

©2023 Lavender Media, Inc.