A Day In The Life: Cady Eddy


Photo by Sarah Aune

Name: Cady (sounds like Katie) Eddy

Where did you grow up? Vermont

Where do you live? South Minneapolis.

Who do you live with? My bae, Sarah, and our cat Adelle and dog Kiki.

What is your occupation? I am currently a student—again (I seem to be a perpetual student). This go-around, I’m studying to be an Occupational Therapy Assistant (helping people do the things that they want and need to do to participate in daily life) and about to finish my last placement for this degree. I’ve done field work in Ecuador and two hospitals in the Twin Cities, one for mental health and my current one in organ transplants, general surgery and a little in the ICU. I’m also a Pilates teacher and primarily focus on problem solving with clients around issues of chronic pain, pregnancy, postpartum, orthopedic surgery, and issues with mental health addressed through physical muscle manipulation, and movement repatterning.

When did you come out? When I was 29.

How’d that go? Scary, but ultimately enlivening. I had a lot of issues with shame as a kid when a gal pal’s sister caught us making out. I buried a lot of truth about myself and tried really hard to just fit society’s idea of me. Coming out was hard at first, lots of people didn’t take me seriously, both within my community and in the queer community. Luckily, I had some really supportive friends in both of those worlds who helped me navigate. My mom has always been really supportive of me, but my dad has refused to speak to me for more than 10 years now (my folks haven’t been together since I was really little). I miss him a lot and know he would really like the person I am, the things I do, and the people I surround myself with—so it’s sad that such a small aspect of human life has to get in the way of our relationship. I still struggle with society’s idea of me and my reality: it’s hard to have to come out over and over all the time, but I also get that it’s a privilege that I get to choose when that happens. So, I guess it’s still scary and enlivening.

When do you wake up? Right now, for work, 4:30 a.m. Ideally, it would be 6:30-7 a.m.

Phone alarm or old school alarm? Phone alarm.

What’s the first thing you do in the morning? Slowly drink coffee.

Breakfast? Yes, please!

Coffee? Yes, please!

Cream or no? Depends on the day, but usually something creamy in the coffee.

How do you spend your commute: Trying to take in as much nature and art as possible, which is easier when I’m taking public transportation.

If your job were like a yearbook, what would you be voted? (Class clown, best dressed, most annoying, etc.) My actual senior superlative was “Class Pam Anderson” (there’s that battle with society again). In all of my recent jobs, I’d probably be voted most dedicated or most enthusiastic.

What inspires you? Nature, and every single person’s story. I think we all have so much to learn from each other.

Do you eat your lunch while working or take a break? Take a break, or sometimes I’ll skip lunch if I have to work. I’ve never been able to figure out how to work and have lunch at the same time… maybe that’s a good thing.

Is your work space tidy or a hot mess? Fluctuating between the two, depending on the day or social pressure involved.

What’s been your favorite job? Working in my friend’s dad’s flower shop after I finished grad school and not knowing what I wanted to do with my life. I loved all the scents and colors, and doing something physical with my hands, and the people! So many interesting people with so many interesting stories!

Who are your heroes? Lizzo for sure—she literally gets me through most days. My mom has led a pretty heroic life, and has helped so many people, me included. Nurses—nurses are some of the most heroic people I have met.

Favorite weeknight meal: Go out, take out, or cook in? Cook in… but it’s really hard to say no to ordering pizza.

Most embarrassing moment: Is it embarrassing I can’t think of one? I’m pretty goofy, so embarrassment is just part of daily living.

On a usual weeknight, you are doing what? Making dinner/lunch (really though, bae makes those things, and I stand in the kitchen talking and snacking) then watching Netflix.

Bedtime: 9 p.m… never in my life have I gone to bed this early, but I don’t think I could function at the hospital if I didn’t.

Favorite weekend activity: Going on adventures! Being in nature, trying new activities or restaurants, doing yard work, making up new cocktails, being active, dancing, having bonfires, spending time with friends and family.

What are you most proud of and why? I am most proud of my open heart and the compassion I have to share.

Words of wisdom to share: I’m sure it’s been said a million times, but it has always been profound for me: “And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.”- Anais Nin.

Lavender Magazine

5100 Eden Ave, Suite 107 • Edina, MN 55436 • 612.436.4660

©2022 Lavender Media, Inc.